Skip to content

The Lost World Book Series of 6 Books Review [2023]

the lost world series books

John Walton is the main author of the lost world book series which has 6 books. In these books, the author has described some historical issues or you may say “biblical issues” that are controversial throughout history.

Here in this article, we have added them in order including their specification and short reviews. The given books are:

  1. The Lost World of Genesis One (2009)
  2. The Lost World of Scripture (2013)
  3. The Lost World of Adam and Eve (2015)
  4. The Lost World of the Israelite Conquest (2017)
  5. The Lost World of the Flood (2018)
  6. The Lost World of the Torah (2019)

This six-book series of “the lost world” has topics regarding ancient ancestors, cosmology, debates about the origin of humans, ancient literacy culture, pact and revenge, theology, mythology, the law of the covenant, and other ancient terms. This is an updated review in 2023, so hope you would love it the new version. 

The Lost World of Genesis One

In The Lost World Series, The Lost World of Genesis One book: Ancient Cosmology and the Origins Debate is written by John H. Walton (Author). 

This book is about ancient cosmology and origin debates, whether you agree with the mentioned theory or not, it is a well-written book and will make you think about science and the Bible in different ways.

An amazing review is given by someone for The Lost World of Genesis One: “Every theologian, every pastor, every Christian who are interested in natural sciences or every Christian who loves the Bible must put aside all other reading material this minute and immediately begin to absorb the contents of John Walton’s The Lost World of Genesis One.” 

The Lost World of Genesis One is one of the famous books related to the origins and ancient cosmology.Buy On Amazon

The Lost World of Scripture

This is the third book of the “lost world series”. “The Lost World of Scripture: Ancient Literary Culture and Biblical Authority” book is written by two authors, John H. Walton and Brent Sandy. 

This book gives a detailed look at the origins of scriptural authority in ancient oral cultures and how they inform our understanding of the Old and New Testaments today.

Walton and Sandy trying to say through this book about how God chose to reveal his word in light of discoveries for ancient literary culture. 

A very short review while summarised the whole book could be like this: “To understand the oral ancient societies this book could be a well-written and very informative resource. It also explains how ancient literacy should affect our understanding of scripture. The authors are experts in their fields and it is recommended everyone on the planet to go for this book.”Buy On Amazon

The Lost World of Adam and Eve

According to the creation myth of the Abrahamic religions, Adam and Eve were the first man and woman. In this book, John Walton has tried to tell us that there is no necessary contradiction between faith and science. 

He has written about the right understanding of modern science and what the Bible actually teaches about cosmic and human origins.

This book discusses the new way to look at the story of Adam and Eve.  With this book, Writer shows faith and learning to save a certain sort of Christian reader. 

The lost world of Adam and Eve is a nicely written book, especially when you want to read about the genesis of human beings. 

The lost world of Adam and Eve on reading Genesis 2 and 3 will be enormously helpful to Bible-readers who wish to take seriously both Scripture and scientific perspectives on such matters as human origins. 

Every Christian should read this book. John Walton is helping an entire generation of people, believers, and skeptics alike. This makes to learn how to read Genesis as it is meant to be read. It would be difficult to imagine any student of the Bible not being mesmerized by his scholarship.Buy On Amazon

The Lost World of the Israelite Conquest

“The Lost World of the Israelite Conquest: Covenant, Retribution, and the Fate of the Canaanites (The Lost World Series)” is written by John H. Walton (Author) and J. Harvey Walton (Author). 

This book talks about holy warfare between Canaan and Israel. With the help of this book, the writers want to revise the traditional view of the Israelites conquest over Canaan.Buy On Amazon

The Lost World of the Flood

This is the 5th book in this series. “The Lost World of the Flood: Mythology, Theology, and the Deluge Debate” is written by Tremper Longman and John H. Walton. 

In this book John Walton and Tremper Longman discussing the great flood of Noah. The writers also make the point that it’s not God’s purpose to teach us science in the Bible. Here we get a message about God’s work in the world.Buy On Amazon

The Lost World of the Torah

It is the last book in the series of The Lost World. This book “The Lost World of the Torah: Law as Covenant and Wisdom in Ancient Context” is written by John H. Walton and J. Harvey Walton. 

In this book, writers have point out how Torah is often misunderstood by Christians because they assume that it functions like modern laws or Greco-Roman laws. Instead, the authors argue, the Torah should be interpreted in its ancient Near Eastern context, where the order was achieved through the wisdom of those who governed society.Buy On Amazon

So these were the six books of the lost world of book series. These books are all related to cosmological and biblical history including some real theories. You may read it once if interested to know about the reality of ancient history. In the end, I will wish you “Happy Reading”

Check here on Amazon for all 6 books of “the lost world series”:-


You may like to check:- Mobile App Development

Disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, we may receive small advertising fees from qualifying purchases.